CVCC Honors 2016 Student Leadership Academy Grads

Student Leadership Academy 2016Catawba Valley Community College recently recognized the sixth graduating class of its annual Student Leadership Academy.

Students selected for the academy in fall 2015 received their certificates of completion at a special Student Leadership Symposium held at the Crowne Plaza in Hickory.

CVCC’s 2016 Student Leadership Academy Fellows include Jesse Alden, Newton; Jonathan Beaver, Newton; Larry Brown, Sherrills Ford; Cassidy Burel, Hickory; Jessie Burns, Hickory; Dakiyah Cowans, Hickory; Judy DeWitt, Newton; Heather Edly, Dallas; Alex Ekonomon, Hickory; Kyle Frisbee, Hickory; Eric Gilbert, Hildebran; Maura Hertzler, Taylorsville; Amanda Linder, Newton; Sam Mills, Hickory; Molly Peeler, Hickory; Julius Ramseur, Maiden; Kim Taylor, Hickory; Minyon Thomas, Conover; Bryan Wilson, Morganton; and Wes Winburn, Crouse.

Under the direction of Dr. Dianne Little, director of CVCC’s Phillips Leadership Institute, graduates experienced more than 30 hours of intensive leadership training and contributed more than 25 hours of service to the college.

Participants also completed a professional portfolio and awards were given for the best three. Four individuals received the following awards in portfolio presentation: First place-Kim Taylor; second place-Bryan Wilson; third place-Judy DeWitt; and Honorable Mention-Maura Hertzler and Amanda Linder.

Guest speakers for the Symposium included Dr. Grace Mitchell, President, Vadec Resources, Inc., Charlotte; Dr. Hampton Hopkins, Dean of Student Services at the Carolinas College of Health Sciences in Charlotte.

Individuals serving on the symposium’s leadership panel included Dr. Iris Barrett, Founder, “The Word is My Life” Training Ministry; Amy Bechtol, CVCC Psychology Instructor; Cindy Coulter, Dean of CVCC’s School of Access, Development, and Success; Kelly Farr, First Vice-President, Commercial Banking Manager, SunTrust Bank; Stephen Horan, Director, Global Product Line Management, Assemblies, & Components, Corning Optical Communications; Steve Hunt, Executive Director, CVCC Office of Multicultural Affairs and Chief of Staff Safety and Security; Lindsay Keisler, Senior Vice-President, Catawba County Chamber of Commerce; Brice Melton, Department Head, Social Sciences and Early Childhood Education, CVCC; Dr. Janet Painter, Professor of Education, Lenoir-Rhyne University; Amy Powell, Branch Manager, Manpower; and Robin Ross, Dean of CVCC’s School of Health and Public Services.

On CVCC’s Awards Day, five of the above students were recognized by their peers as outstanding future leaders based on their involvement in and contributions to the Academy.  “Future Leader” awards were presented to Maura Hertzler, Bryan Wilson, Jesse Alden, Sam Mills and Kim Taylor.


 Catawba Valley Community College recently recognized the sixth graduating class of its annual Student Leadership Academy. Pictured (front, from left) are Student Leadership Academy Director Dr. Dianne Little, Kim Taylor, Judy DeWitt, Maura Hertzler, Julius Ramseur, Jonathan Beaver, Dean of the School of Health & Public Service Robin Ross (advisor), (2nd row) Jessie Burns, Dakiyah Cowans, Larry Brown, Cassidy Burel, Eric Gilbert, Molly Peeler, Amanda Linder, (3rd row) Kyle Frisbee, Minyon Thomas, Bryan Wilson, Jesse Alden, Sam Mills, Wes Winburn, Alex Ekonomon and Heather Edly.

This entry was posted in Campus News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s