“Paper Angels” Film Screening & Foster Care System Discussion Nov. 16 at CVCC

Paper Angels Movie PosterCatawba Valley Community College’s Interdisciplinary Read Committee will host a screening Wed., Nov. 16, of the film “Paper Angels.” The film is based on the book “Paper Angels” co-authored by Jimmy Wayne and Travis Thrasher. The book was inspired by Wayne’s country song of the same name.
 
“Walk to Beautiful,” written by Wayne about growing up in the North Carolina Foster Care system, was chosen for this year’s interdisciplinary read.

The film will be shown at noon in the college’s East Wing Auditorium located on the Main Campus on Hwy. 70 SE in Hickory. The community is invited to attend.
 
Starring Matthew Settle (“Gossip Girl”) and Josie Bissett (“Melrose Place”), “Paper Angels” is a triumphant tale of overcoming bullying, discovering faith, and the generosity of the human spirit. Set during the holidays, the story revolves around the selection of an angel from a Salvation Army’s Angel Tree.The Salvation Army’s Angel Tree program gives hope to thousands of children during the holidays by allowing benevolent strangers to purchase them a much-desired gift. 
 
“The Salvation Army provided food and clothes to my mom, sister and me when I was nine years old,” said Wayne. “They provided me my first guitar through the Angel Tree program when I was 14 years old. I vowed when I ‘made it,’ I would give back to The Salvation Army. The first song I wrote when I received my first record deal was ‘Paper Angels’ — a song about the Angel Tree program. I wrote about The Salvation Army in my book ‘Walk to Beautiful.’”
 
CVCC’s Circle K Club will have a Salvation Army Angel Tree available for audience members to select an angel.
 
For updates on discussions and campus events focused on “Walk to Beautiful,” visit the Facebook page at www.facebook.com/CVCCBookRead.
 
Community members are invited to attend this and all subsequent presentations.
If you need accommodations, please contact Wanda Horvath at CVCC, 828-327-7000 ext. 4222, whorvath@cvcc.edu. For more information, contact Donna Ross, 828-327-7000 ext. 4111, or dross@cvcc.edu.
This entry was posted in Campus News. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

